Our Staff

Leadership Team

Martin Hawrylak
Executive Headteacher

Martin Hawrylak has over 20 years of leadership experience of working in small village schools. He is an experienced head teacher, former Accounting Officer, Company Secretary, and former director for Stisted Primary Academy Trust. 

Mr Hawrylak is an Executive Head teacher leading Stisted CE Primary Academy, St Andrew's, Marks Tey and Finchingfield.  He is a qualified Special Educational Needs Coordinator and has specialist interests in Special Educational Needs, Curricular Development, Pedagogy, Montessori education and Educational Leadership. 

He has successful led Stisted C of E Primary Academy to two consecutive Ofsted outstanding judgements and three consecutive outstanding judgements in church school inspections.  He joined the team at Finchingfield as the Executive Head teacher in November 2022 and provides the strategic leadership to ensure the school provides the children of Finchingfield the best education possible.

Mr Hawrylak is an experienced musician playing charity events for a local band. He graduated from St Mary’s University, Twickenham in 1993 and has two grown up children. He is a dog lover with three two whippets and an Italian greyhound that keep him fit, healthy and active.

Samina Metson
Head of School

Samina Metson has over 10 years of experience as an outstanding Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2  practitioner. She has used her knowledge of the curriculum and teaching to train, trainee teachers. She is able to coach and mentor teachers to become the best version of themselves. 

Mrs Metson joined Finchingfield in February 2023 as Head of School. She felt her expertise in curriculum and teaching and learning would be vital in helping the school grow further. 

Mrs Metson has a small family and lives locally to Finchingfield. 

Ashley Este
Deputy Head of School

Teaching & Learning Teams


Mrs Julie Potter (Lead Nursery Practitioner)

Mrs Carly Russell (Nursery Assistant)

Ms Lisa Reynolds (Lead Montessori Practitioner) 


Mrs Michelle Nixon

Key Stage 1 Team

Year 2 and Year 3

Mrs Samina Metson (Class teacher)

Mrs Heather Harrold (Assistant teacher) 

Key Stage 2 Team

Year 4,  5 and Year 6

Mr Ashley Este (Class teacher)

Mrs Jenny Benton (Higher Level Teaching Assistant

School Support Staff

School Business Support Staff

Mrs Joanne Warren

Midday Assistant & Premises Support

Ms Claire Law

After School Care & Breakfast Club

Mrs Joanne Warren

Mrs Samina Metson

Mr Este

Mrs Benton