Our Curriculum

Reception aged children learning to write using the large wooden alphabet

The Curriculum at Finchingfield

The curriculum is everything that we intend children to learn at Finchingfield. This has been carefully mapped out so that children experience a coherent, well-sequenced  curriculum that builds on what they have been taught, know and can do.

It has been designed to equip children with the knowledge, attitudes and dispositions they need to acquire key skills and conceptual understanding in a range of subjects

The school curriculum is split into three Key Stages and has been designed in a way that new learning always builds on what has already been taught in a previous year group or Key Stage.

Children are taught the knowledge they need to know through inquiry, discussion and carefully sequence activities and experiences planned by the class teacher. All the subjects we teach at this school are planned and delivered in a similar way to ensure that learning is cumulative and builds on what children have already been taught.

Some learning is through topics, inquiries and themes whilst some learning is through discrete subject specific lessons.

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage includes our Nursery and Reception Class. The curriculum for both cohorts is centred around the 5 areas of learning based on the Montessori curriculum and incorporates all the areas of learning outlined in the national Early Years Framework. 

Practical Life

Sensorial Development



Cultural studies

When children enter the Reception year, we carry out national baseline assessments. This helps us determine the starting points for each child so that we can tailor the curriculum to their needs.

During the Reception year, children are assessed against the 17 Early Learning Goals outlined in the national Early Years Framework.  This helps parents understand how their child is performing relative to national milestones and helps us determine if a child needs a little extra support in a particular area of the curriculum.

Key Stage 1

Our Reception Curriculum is ambitious and designed so that children have every opportunity to be  ready for the Key Stage 1 curriculum. Key Stage 1 is the first key stage of primary school, a phase of education for 5-7-year-old children in England. 

To ensure a smooth transition from nursery, Reception through to Year 1, the classroom environment and the school curriculum is delivered through the same 5 areas of learning. These are practical life, sensorial development, language, maths and cultural studies

Key Stage 2

When children complete Key Stage 1, they embark on the Key Stage 2 curriculum (Years 3-6)

The National Curriculum

Our school curriculum includes the programmes of study outlined in the National Curriculum and forms part of our wider school curriculum. 

The National Curriculum specifies what children will learn from Year 1 onwards in the following subjects:

- Literacy

- Mathematics 

- Science

- Art

- Design and technology 

- Computing

- Music

- History

- Geography

- Physical Education

- A Modern Foreign Language

We use an accredited Systematic Synthetic Phonics Programme to teach early reading. The programme we use at this school is Twinkl.

The School Curriculum

In addition to the National Curriculum, character development is part of our curriculum. This is because we believe it is important that our children learn to be curious, confident, self-directed learners. This underpins our vision to help children to grow healthy bodies, loving hearts and inquisitive minds.

Our Personal Development curriculum includes  social, moral, spiritual and cultural education primarily through our Relationships, Sex and Health Education Programme and Religious Education. Further details on this aspect of the curriculum can be found in the Personal Development section of our website.

Our Curricular Plans

We have included a number of links below so that you can see our curriculum and understand what children will be learn at this school in each class.

The following term by term overviews provides a summary of the content taught across the year in each subject. We are currently on Cycle B of a three year cycle.

We have also included links to show curricular progression. These are grouped into subjects that have progression through key inquiry questions and those through knowledge progression statements.

Teachers have access to the detailed knowledge children are expected to learn in subjects that have key inquiry questions. 


Term by Term Overviews

Class 1

Part B Sequencing Year R & 1 (Cycle B 2023-24).pdf

Reception & Year 1

Class 2

Part B Sequencing Year 2 & 3 (Cycle B 2023-24).docx.pdf

Year 2 & 3

Class 3

Part B Sequencing Year 4,5 & 6 (Cycle B 2023-24).pdf

Year 4, 5 & 6

Subject Progression through Key Inquiry Questions



Religious Education

Religious Education Overview.pdf

Relationships Education

Relationships Education.pdf






Computing Overview.pdf


Art Overview.pdf

Design and Technology

Design and Technology Overview.pdf


Music Overview.pdf

Subject Progression through knowledge progression statements


Reading Overview.pdf


Writing Overview.pdf

Mathematics (Early Years)

Reception curriculum mapping.pdf

Mathematics (Year 1 - 6)

Maths Progression Ready to Progress.pdf

Spoken English

Spoken language (oracy) Overview.pdf

Modern Foreign Language

Modern Foreign Language Overview.pdf

Physical Education

Physical Education Overview.pdf


Phonics is a method of teaching children early reading by correlating sounds with alphabetic symbols. The teaching programme we use is Twinkl. This is an accredited Systematic Synthetic Phonic teaching approach approved by the Department of Education.

Our phonics programme begins in our nursery setting where children engage in indirect learning that equips children with auditory and visual discrimination skills needed to recognise subtle differences in sounds and letter shapes.

Children learn the skill of segmentation. This means separating a whole word into corresponding units of sound called phonemes. This programme begins in the Reception and continues through to the end of Year 2. Children who have not reached the expected standard continue with the programme in Year 3 and beyond.

Reception (Level 1-4)


Year 1 and Year 2 (Level 5 - 6)